Delete PayPal account | useful guide 2021

A PayPal account can be very helpful. It is an easy and free way to send money to your family abroad or pay online. You can also set up a business account to allow customers or customers to pay.

If you find that you no longer need your PayPal account for any reason, close or delete PayPal account is quick, convenient, and can be done in just a few minutes.

The good news is that there is no cost to maintaining a PayPal account, even if you don’t use it. However, if you do not plan to use your PayPal account again, we recommend that you delete it. PayPal is secure, but anywhere on the web where your personal and financial information is stored may be compromised. Deleting data from unused areas reduces the risk of this information being released.

Some people close their PayPal accounts because they want to close them for security reasons. Business users may close non-commercial business accounts. Users can also close their PayPal accounts because they have switched to another payment method such as Venmo or Stripe.

Alternatively, you may want to create a new PayPal account with a different email address. If any of these reasons apply to you, you may want to know how to close your PayPal account.

Before Delete PayPal Account

The process of closing your account is straightforward, but there are a few things you need to do before closing your account.

  • Copy transaction history

If you permanently delete your account, there is no recovery process. gone forever. You can open another account using the same email address, but you will lose all data in your real account. We recommend that you make copies of your transaction history and keep records.

  • PayPal Balance Transfer

If you close your account, you probably don’t want PayPal to keep your balance. The next step is to transfer the money to another PayPal account or to a bank account. You can also ask for a paper check for $1.50. Another method you can use. You can buy online or donate to charities that accept PayPal.

  • Account payment and/or troubleshooting

On the other hand, if you have a balance left in your account, PayPal cannot close your account until you pay in full. Also, we cannot close your account if there is a pending payment or if there is an unresolved issue with your account. You may need to contact customer service to resolve the issue.

Close your PayPal personal account

Once you’ve saved a copy of your transaction history, resolved any remaining issues related to your account, and collected all of your PayPal balance, it’s time to start the process of closing your PayPal account.

Account closure is permanent, but the whole process actually takes a few minutes. The process you need to follow is slightly different from personal and business accounts.

How to close your PayPal account:

  • Be sure to copy your transaction history if necessary.
  • Make sure there are no issues remains with your account.
  • Make sure you clear your PayPal balance
  • Sign in to your PayPal account from a web browser on your personal computer or laptop.
  • After signing in to your PayPal account, click the Settings menu (the settings menu icon next to the opt-out option in the top right corner of your screen).
  • There is an account options tab in the settings menu. open this tab
  • In the Account Options section, click the Cancel Account button.
  • Please provide details of your bank account if requested.
  • Click the Close Account button.

Close PayPal business account

If you have a business account, you can also downgrade your account, but you will need to contact customer service to do so.

How to close your PayPal business account:

  • Be sure to copy your transaction history if necessary.
  • Make sure that there are no issues remains with your PayPal account.
  • Make sure you clear your PayPal balance
  • Sign in to your PayPal account from a web browser on your personal computer or laptop.
  • After signing in to your PayPal account, click the Profile button (the Profile button icon is in the top right corner of the screen, next to the Sign Out option).
  • Click the Profile button and settings
  • Click on Account Settings
  • At the top of the account settings page is the account type line. To the right of this line is the Close Account button next to the account type.
  • Click the Close Account button to delete your PayPal account.

When your PayPal account is closed, it will be permanently deleted and you will not be able to access any account information, including your transaction history.

What happens if I close my PayPal account?

Once you close your PayPal account, it cannot be recovered. You will lose your PayPal transaction history. Requests for outstanding balances are automatically canceled. Scheduled online payments cannot be made with a deleted PayPal account. You will also lose any unused redemption codes or coupons.

Note: You can create a new PayPal account if needed (you can also use the same email address), but you won't be able to see information from your old account.

conclusion

In short, we did our best to discuss how to delete your PayPal account. We also tried to cover all relevant information and points in mind when deleting your PayPal account. If you like my article on how to delete your PayPal account or other information you need, please let me know in the comments section.

FAQs

Can I delete my PayPal account and restart it?

If you close your account, PayPal will not be able to reopen it. However, you can open a new account with the same or similar email account.

What happens if I cancel my PayPal account?

Your records and your relationship with PayPal will also be lost. You will not be able to see the transaction history for your old account, but you can create a new PayPal (usually with the same email address). Upcoming online payments will not be possible with a deleted account.

Can I have two PayPal accounts?

Yes. You can have one account with one Prime or a Business account. You can add other email addresses, bank or credit cards, and bank accounts to your account, but each account must have a different email address and financial details.

Can PayPal Block Your Bank Account?

Account restrictions can be for many reasons. … Your bank or card issuer may take similar action if you inform us that someone has used your bank account or card without permission. Your account may not comply with legal requirements.

Leave a Comment